A day in the life of: A Netflix addict

As an experienced binge watcher, Netflix is heaven on earth for me! Since I began my subscription over a year ago I’ve managed to plough through some brilliant series’ and films. However, most recently – my Netflix addiction has hit a new all time low (or high – call it what you will, I’ll call it a high)… despite working and going to university 6 days out of the week, I have managed to get through 5 seasons of It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia in just less than two weeks.

I already had what seemed like an infinite amount of love for Charlie Day and Glen Howerton (after his amazing stint in Mindy Project as Clive). My eyes were opened even wider to how brilliant these two actors actually are – seriously, I feel like I should start living life like Charlie Kelly. I started watching It’s Always Sunny expecting nothing much, as an older series I wasn’t expecting the kind of humour you see in shows like New Girl and Brooklyn Nine-Nine. I was so wrong. So wrong. In fact I hate myself for expecting so low of what I could easily pin point as my new favourite show. Watching this show was my first introduction to Rob Mcelhenney, and now I am 100% in love with everything about him – his face, his voice, the fact he wrote the show AND to make things even better – he’s married to co-star Sweet Dee (Kaitlin Oslon).

I am a huge lover of TV – Especially American sit-com comedies. So, I’m quite picky about what I like. Something I always hate in a series is predictability – for example, with New Girl, in season 3, although we all knew Nick and Jess were going to get together, we also knew that they were going to have a cutesy-relationship, come into some kinda conflict and break up. There was no way the series could have continued with the Jess-Nick-Love dynamic! The best thing about It’s Always Sunny is that it is so unpredictable – you literally have no idea what will happen in the next episode. Producing some of the most comical scenes I’ve ever witness (Dayman being one of those – the clip will be below). The Nightman Cometh, an episode about a musical Charlie has written is by far the best episode, I cried actual tears.

Enough baffling, I can only say that if you’re a fan of binge watching, or sensibly watching TV at appropriate times – but who does that?! Please watch It’s Always Sunny, you’ll be hooked instantaneously and you can thank me later…

I’ll leave you with some beautiful It’s Always Sunny related things…

http://youtu.be/TzaVd6zl2bA – Charlie’s song Dayman – if you don’t think its the best song you’ve ever heard then we cannot be friends.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/erinlarosa/ways-to-live-life-like-charlie-kelly#.rh43AWKJW A Buzzfeed article of ways to live like Charlie Kelly.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/stephanieanderson/later-boners#.pjZn9rzYr Another Buzzfeed article about Sweet Dee and 19 of her best moments.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/paulf24/23-life-lessons-youve-learned-from-its-always-su-b5ra#.qaQMrz8Ez And finally…. 23 life lessons you can learn from this amazing show.

One thought on “A day in the life of: A Netflix addict

Leave a comment